Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support

Documentation related to the following products will soon be moved to a new portal: ( Agility, Agility Connect and Agility Integrations Continuum and ALM Connect
Links from the site will automatically redirect to the new site.
If you have any questions, please contact Support. Agility Community

Step 3. Understand the Top-Level Entitites and Phases of Delivery


Continuum pulls together various development and DevOps processes and applications to give you end-to-end visibility into your software delivery processes. To achieve this, Continuum uses the following top-level entities:

  • Projects
    Represent source code repositories or applications

  • Changes
    Individual source code commits

  • Workitems
    Stories and defects that developers work on, also know. as business value

  • Artifact
    The binary as the result of a build of a project or source code

  • Packages
    One or more Artifacts that are versioned and tied to changes and workitems, the smallest possible deliverable unit of software, multiple artifacts can be delivered in a single package revision

  • Progressions
    An end-to-end Value Stream or a series of Phases of Delivery (below) that software advances through to end up being delivered to the customer or into production

  • Pipelines
    Automated workflows whose purpose is to move the packages across the progression (build, test, deploy, etc.)

Phases of Delivery

The following progression phases are defined for the example company in the sample environment. Note that these phases of delivery apply to several of their software development projects:

  • Phase 1: Merged

  • Phase 2: Regression Test

  • Phase 3: Performance Test

  • Phase 4: Ready for Delivery

  • Phase 5: Released - Toggled Off

  • Phase 6: Released

The following walkthroughs are categorized by role, but several of the use cases can apply to multiple audiences.