Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
Digital.ai Agility Community

Assigning Workitems to a Team on the Release Scheduling Page

Overview

Follow these steps to learn how to assign work items to a team from the Release Scheduling page.

  This feature is only available if the Teams feature is enabled in your Digital.ai Agility instance. Contact your system administrator for more information.

The items in the backlog grid on the right are unscheduled or unassigned. In other words, they have not been added to a team. Follow the steps below to assign workitems to a team. Note that once "scheduled", the work item is removed and no longer displays in the backlog grid on the right.

This feature is a perfect match for the SAFe PI Planning session where the plan for a 10-week program increment (PI) is created by and for multiple teams.

Option 1. Drag and Drop

Simply drag-and-drop any backlog item directly to a team.  

  1. Click Release > Release Scheduling.

  2. If not already selected, select a project from the project navigator.

  3. Locate the desired project/release, and click the Teams tab.

  4. Select an item in the backlog grid on the right, and then drag it to a team on the left.

    •  You can can assign items to both a project/release and a team at same time

    • You an drag a portfolio item onto a team to assign the target team or to assign the team to any child items that exist.

If a portfolio item contains any child workitems that are assigned to other projects/releases, the system lists them and asks if you want move (or unite) them to the same project as the parent portfolio item:

  • Click Yes, Unite These Workitems to assign the workitems to the same project.

  • Click No, Leave Them There to leave them in their current project(s). 

  • Click Show what has already been moved to view the work items that have already been moved to a project.

Option 2. Assigning a Work Item to a Team in the Grid

You can also assign a work item to a team from the Backlog grid. 

  1. Click Edit next to a backlog item.

  2. In the Target Team field, select a team from the list.

  3. Click Save.

Unassigning a Work Item from a Team

To unassign (or remove) a work item from a team, follow the steps below.

  1. Click Edit next to a backlog item.

  2. In the Target Team field, click the - (minus sign) next to the team to unassign the work item.

  3. Click Save.

You may be receive a prompt if child items are assigned to a different team than the parent. You can move everything to unite the parent and all its children or leave them where they are (for example, if a child story must be done by a component team and has already been assigned to that team).