Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Using the Grid Action Menu

This feature is available in all editions.

editions-all.png

The Action menu, located in the top right corner of many grids and on the Details page for individual items, allows you to apply bulk changes to one or more items in the grid. Depending on the asset selected and the point in the process (in some cases), the actions listed may change.

Note that the Actions menu may be disabled if the action cannot be performed on the selected asset. Examples include:

  • Workitems (e.g. a backlog item, task or test) in a closed sprint cannot be edited, so all actions are disabled

  • A project that contains backlog item items cannot be deleted, so the Delete action is disabled

Selecting Multiple Owners

Follow these steps to select multiple owners for backlog items, defects, test sets, tasks, and tests:

  1. Click Customize icon in the top corner of the grid. The Customize Columns window displays.

  2. For the Owner field, select both the Display and Edit columns.

  3. Click Save to return to the Backlog grid. The Owner column now displays in the grid.

  4. For the item you want to change, place your cursor in the Owner field, and then select a name from the quick list.

    • If the owner is not displayed, type at least 3 characters in the owner's name to see a list of matching names.

  5. Repeat Step 4 until all the owners have been added.

Selecting Multiple Items (Multi-Select)

The Multi-select menu, located in the top right corner of the grids, allows you to apply bulk changes to one or more items in the grid.

  • To apply an action to multiple items, select the items you want to change, and then select an option from the Multi-select menu.

  • If want to apply an action to all the rows, select the check box at the top of the column.

  • If you want to deselect All of the rows on the page, select the check box at the top of the column.

Notes:

  • Actions are applied only to selected rows on the visible page. Any selections made on other pages will be ignored.

  • Some tree displays include actions that may not be applicable to all of the rows displayed in the tree. The system will ignore any selected rows that are not applicable to the action.

Sign Me Up

Use Sign Me Up to assign yourself as the owner of a backlog item, defect, task, or test and, if configured with a transiton, update the status value. Sign Me Up is available to all members with write access on the project. Note that if you sign up for an item that already has an owner, you will be will added as a second owner on the item in addition to the first. When you sign up

Using Quick Close

Use Quick Close to update the status and close an item at the same time. Quick Close is available to all members with write access on a specific asset and will be the suggested action on tracking pages when To Do falls to zero and automatically closes any tasks or tests beneath the item being closed.

Note that Quick Close will not impact Effort. If Effort is tracked in your system, it must be tracked prior to quick closing an item.

Closing Multiple Items

Closing an item with any remaining To Dos will automatically zero out the To Do. Closing a backlog item or defect automatically closes any tasks or tests that belong to it as well.

  • Was this article helpful?