Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Using the My Work Page

This feature is available in Catalyst, Enterprise, and Ultimate editions.

editions-ceu.png

Overview

The My Work page is a personalized page that is specific to each team member. It's a one-stop view of the data you typically need to see and/or update in your project.

By default, it's set up for team member tracking but you can add or remove other sections as you need. 

For example, you can add Owned Issues to see and address any assigned issues. A Product Owner Customer who doesn't own tasks or tests may choose to remove all the default display sections and only show the backlog items for which he or she is responsible.

Accessing the My Work Page

From the main menu, select My Home, and then click My Work.

Customizing the Display

Click on Customize to change the portlets being displayed. Select the portlets to be displayed. Drag portlet rows up or down each column on the Customize page to control the display order.

What's Displayed

Many of the portlets focus on items owned by the member in the currently active sprint . This allows team members and others to keep the focus on what is current without having to keep updating their selections.

Portlets for items that are not directly tied to a sprint/iteration are still generally tied to the selected team member as specified. The Sprint Summary portlet is an exception in that it is not tied to ownership, but rather displays all active sprints within the selected project range..

The default view shows three sections:

  • Workitem Summary
    A listing of all current work owned by the member in active sprints in the selected project(s). When a task or test is owned, the system also displays the backlog item that holds the task or test.

  • Member Summary
    A current summary of work items (backlog items , tasks and tests) owned by the member in active sprints of the selected project(s),

  • Sprint/Iteration Summary
    A summary of any and all active sprints in the selected project(s)

You can also add any of these sections:

Other Left side (wide):

  • Owned Tasks
    Tasks owned by the selected team member in an active sprint

  • Owned Tests
    Tests owned by the selected team member in an active sprint

  • Owned Backlog Items
    Backlog Items owned by the selected team member in an active sprint

  • Backlog Items (product owner)
    Backlog Items in an active sprint where the selected team member is the assigned product owner

  • Owned Defects
    Defects owned by the selected team member with ability to filter by sprint

  • Owned Backlog Groups
    Backlog Groups owned by the selected team member

  • Backlog Groups (product owner )
    Backlog Groups where the selected team member is the assigned customer product owner

  • Owned Issues
    Issues owned by the selected team member

  • Owned Requests
    Requests owned by the selected team member

  • Owned Sprints
    Sprints owned by the selected team member

  • Owned Projects
    Projects owned by the selected team member

  • My Inbox
    Notifications from inside the Lifecycle application

Other Right side (narrow):

  • Owned Issues
    Listing of issues owned by the selected team member; hover for more information or click through to the Details page to manage

  • Owned Requests
    Listing of requests owned by the selected team member; hover for more information or click through to the Details page to manage

  • Owned Defects
    Listing of defects owned by the selected team member; hover for more information or click through to the Details page to manage

Tracking

Team members will log time worked in the Effort column, if applicable, and update the To Do amount with your best guess of the amount of work remaining for the item. Update status values as appropriate within the procedures developed by your organization. Click Save.

Closing/Approving Work items

When work has been completed, approved and updated, Close the items to clear them from the default view. When all the tasks and tests for a given backlog item or defect have been completed, approved and updated, Close that work item to reflect the completion.

Feature progress in reports (e.g. a Project Burndown) is measured by closed vs. open backlog item and defect estimate. Closing items confirms to the system the item has been fully completed.

Multiple Owners

Any items with multiple owners defined will show up on the My Home pages of each of the owners. Each owner can track time against the item. All should coordinate to ensure the To Do estimate is updated accurately.

Display the Allocated columns (see Altering Your View section below) when multiple owners are assigned to a single item. This divides the Detail Estimate and/or remaining To Do amounts by the number of owners, showing a more accurate picture of each person's workload.

Allocated values for Detail Estimate and To Do are used in the Member Summary section at the top of the page.

Project Navigator

Use the Project Navigator to view different subsets of your data if working across multiple projects. The displays on the page are limited to those within the included project(s).

Changing Members

Use the Owners field at the top of the page to view the Summary page for others on your projects.

  • Was this article helpful?