This feature is available in all editions.
There are two roles assigned to your VersionOne account. The first one is your Admin Privileges role (formerly Default Role). This role establishes your access to the system and the level of system configuration permissions you have. It does not grant you access to projects.
The second role, the Project Role, is the role that determines what you can see and do on each project to which you are assigned. And for each project you work on, your role may be different.
In this case, you are probably not assigned to the project, or the project role assigned to you does not allow you to view backlog items.
To see all workitems in the system, you'll need to be assigned to the root project (System) with the project role of "Observer" (at a minimum). Your project role on other projects can be adjusted as needed to allow you to view, create, or edit workitems.