Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Understanding System (All Projects)

This feature is available in Catalyst, Enterprise, and Ultimate editions.

editions-ceu.png

What is the "System (All Projects)" Project?

The "System (All Projects)" project sits at the top level of the project tree and was automatically created when Lifecycle was set up. We recommend that you create all of your projects/child projects underneath it to retain the flexibility to scale the project tree in the future.

If you have access to multiple child projects under the same parent project, but do not have access to the parent project itself, "System (All Projects)" displays instead so you can navigate to all of your projects.

Examples

For example, if you have access to "Project A" and "Project C", but not "Company", shown below:

Company

Project A

Project B

Project C

Project D

The Project Tree shows:

System (All Projects)

Project A

Project C

 

 

I cannot see System (All Projects)!

This means that your user account does not have a role assigned in the System (All Projects) projects. In order to see this you will need to be assigned a role in the project. By default, only the Admin user account has a role in that project. It does not matter if you have admin rights or not, if you do not have a role in System (All Projects) you cannot see it.

If you have access to the default system Admin account or know who does, you (or another Admin who has a role in that project) can login with the default Admin user ID and see the System (All Projects) projects. This will allow you or your admin to assign a role to yourself or any other users that require access to the root project.

To assign a role, login as Admin. Go to Administration->Members->Project Role and click the Manage button beside the user. Add the role beside the System (All Projects) project and save.

Alternatively, you can go to Administration->Projects->Member Roles and click the Manage button beside the System (All Projects) project. This way you can add multiple users to that project if necessary.