Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Deleting a Project

This feature is available in Catalyst, Enterprise, and Ultimate editions.

editions-ceu.png

Deleting a project is not the preferred method for getting rid of project data from Lifecycle. Instead, we recommend that you close the project and only delete them in cases where they were mistakenly created. 

Before You Begin

You can also Close the project to hide it from view if you do not want to deal with it right now.

Before delete a project, note the following:

  • The root project, "System (All Projects)" cannot be deleted.

  • Make sure that the project is "Open".

  • The project must be empty.

    • All open and closed child projects must be deleted/moved along with any associated assets (features, defects, issues, Requests, backlog groups, templates, TeamRooms, etc.).

  • Your Project Role at the level above the project you are deleting must be set to: System Admin, Member Admin, Project Admin or Project Lead.

If you try to delete a project and the Delete link is grayed-out, check the items above.

Step 1. Deleting or Moving Existing Project Assets

There are two ways to find assets associated with a project:

Options Steps

In Lifecycle

  1. Select Admin > Projects & Fields Admin > Projects.

  2. Click on the name of the project you want to delete. The Project details view opens.

  3. Click on each of the assets and delete or move them to another project.

  4. Proceed to Step 2. Delete the Project below.

Using the API (Quickest)

  1. Locate the assets in the project by typing the following URL in your browser:

    https://[servername]/[instancename]/rest-1.v1/Data/BaseAsset?where=SecurityScope.ParentMeAndUp.Name='[projectname]';IsDeleted='false'&sel=Name

    • Replace [servername], [instancename], and[projectname] appropriately.

  2. The resulting XML list shows all the assets attached to the project, with the exception of TeamRooms™ and PlanningRooms™. Delete or move these items to a new project.

  3. Next, check the TeamRooms and PlanningRooms in the project by typing this URL in your browser:

    https://[servername]/[instancename]/rest-1.v1/Data/Room?where=Scope.Name='[projectname]'&sel=Name,

    • Replace [servername], [instancename], and [projectname] appropriately.

  4. Delete the TeamRooms or PlanningRooms shown or log into Lifecycle and move the them to another project.

  5. Proceed to Step 2. Delete the Project below.

Step 2. Deleting a Project

After you have emptied the project, you can delete it following these steps.

  1. Select Admin > Projects & Fields Admin > Projects.

  2. Click on the arrow next to the Add Child Project drop-down button, and then select Delete.

Deleting Multiple Projects

To delete a large number of items at once, follow these steps:

  1. On any planning page, select the checkboxes next to the projects you want to delete.

  2. Click Delete at the bottom of the page.