Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Configuring Tracking Settings

This feature is available in Enterprise and Ultimate editions.

editions-eu.png

Overview

Tracking settings are system-wide options that determine the level at which team progress is tracked (backlog level or task level), as well as whether actual Effort is tracked in addition to remaining To Do to indicate progress. 

When Effort tracking is enabled within Lifecycle:

  • additional columns display in grids to capture Effort and roll up the accumulated amount of work Done.

  • Progress bars for sprints/iterations display the total amount Done vs. the remaining To Do estimate.

  • additional reports showing Effort are available

To make changes to effort tracking settings, your Admin Privileges role must be set to "System Administrator".

Accessing Tracking Settings

Select Admin > Configuration > System.

Enabling/Disabling Tracking

Effort Tracking is enabled by default for all Agile methodologies except Scrum. 

  1. Select Admin > Configuration > System.

  2. Select or deselect Track Effort in the Effort Tracking section.

  3. Click Save.

ConfigurationEffortTracking.png

Updating Effort

Members can update their Effort and ToDo entries in any of the following areas of Lifecycle: TeamRooms™, on their My Work page, or in Sprint/Iteration Tracking. See How do I update Status and Effort for details.

Reports Showing Effort

When Effort Tracking is enabled, the following reports are available:

  • The Burndown graphs are not affected by the Effort Tracking settings. Burndown shows the remaining amount of To Do estimate within a sprint. At the Project level, Burndown always shows the remaining amount of Backlog Estimate.
     
  • Graphs that show Done along with other measures (e.g. Detail Estimate Trend, Member Load, Member Trend reports) will continue to include the Done amounts in the legend even if Effort Tracking is disabled.