Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Entering Member Capacity Values

This feature is available in Enterprise and Ultimate editions.

editions-eu.png

Overview

During sprint planning, team members should routinely enter capacity data at the most detailed project and team level at which it is to be applied. In addition, they should enter separate capacity values for each project they are working on. For example, if a DBA is splitting time between two different teams on the same project, their capacity should be entered separately for each team.

If the Teams feature is NOT enabled...

If the Teams feature is NOT enabled, capacity is specified per project, per member, and per sprint. The member list shows all members assigned to the project, plus anyone who has capacity assigned to them in the project, specifically:

  • members with detail estimate assigned to them in the project

  • members who already have Member Capacity values assigned in the project.

Steps

  1. Go to Team > Iteration Planning (or Sprint Planning) > Member Planning.

  2. In the Members grid,

    • select Member Group from the Filter drop-down list, and then select a group, or

    • select Show Current Owners

  3. Click the Edit button next to each member's name, and then enter (or update) capacity values as appropriate.

  4. Click Save to save your entries. The Total capacity for each affected sprint increases or decreases accordingly.

If you have team members working in multiple projects or releases and you'd prefer to enter capacity in a single location rather than multiple, you can do that. If that location is not someplace where work is normally tracked by the member, you may need to temporarily move or enter a backlog item in that project location with a task that has detail estimate and is owned by the member. This will enable capacity entry for that member within that project. Once capacity is entered for a member for at least one sprint, you can remove that temporary backlog item and continue to enter capacity for that member going forward in that project.

Deleting a member (or team) also deletes their capacity entries in open sprints. Because this causes discrepancies in the totals for historical sprints and what displays in the grid, we recommend that you inactivate their account instead of deleting it so that capacity entries for closed sprints remain in the rollup totals.

If the Teams feature is enabled...

Member Capacity is specified per project, per team, per member, and per sprint, including:

  • teams and team members who are doing work at that level in the project tree

  • teams with backlog assigned to them in the project

  • team members who already have Detail Estimate or Member Capacity values assigned for that team on that project level (listed under a team)

If the Teams feature IS enabled, capacity is specified per project, per member, per team, per sprint. The first step is to add a member under a team working on the project using the steps below.

Steps

To add a member's capacity, you must first add them to the capacity plan, and then enter their capacity.

  1. In the Members grid,

    • select Member Group from the Filter drop-down list, and then select a group, or

    • select Show Current Owners

  2. Click Add Member for the team to which you want to add a new member, then select the member from the drop-down list.

  3. Enter capacity values for the new team member across open sprints. When you enter a capacity value for a member, it "pins" the member under a team. If you do not enter capacity, the system does not pin the member's row and removes it after refresh of the page.

  4. Click Apply to save your entry. The Total capacity for each affected sprint increases or decreases accordingly.

If a member's name does not display in the Add Member drop-down list, make sure their Project Role has write access to the project and the Owner List checkbox is selected.

  1. Go to Admin > Member Admin > Members > Project Roles.
  2. Click the Manage button next to the member's name.

  3. Select the Project Role, then select the small check box next to the New Project Role/Owner List.