Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

What is the difference between Resolving and Closing Issues?

This feature is available in all editions.

editions-all.png

Background

The status of an issue was changed to "Resolved". But, the issue is still showing open in the Issue Quicklist even when the "Show Closed Issues" option is selected.

Answer

Closing an item is a two stage process. First it must be resolved and then closed. If the issue is still showing up on the Issue Quicklist then it was probably resolved, but not closed.

  1. On any Issue grid within Product Planning, Release Planning, Sprint Planning, or Sprint Tracking use the Action menu at the right of the issue in the grid and select Close Issue.
    • Or, open the detail view for the item from the Issue Quicklist and use the Action menu in the upper right-hand corner to select Close Issue.
  2. The Issue detail view opens. Complete the form.
  3. Click Close Issue.
  4. If you'd like to see Closed Issues in your issue grids, select Show Closed Items in your grid customization.

This two step process allows visibility into issues regardless of status. On the other hand, closed items drop from view by default.

  • Was this article helpful?