This feature is available in all editions.
You should only delete a defect if it should not have existed in the first place (duplicate, created in error, etc.). If it was actually used for tracking, however, it should be closed instead of deleted. This will keep the item available for historical reporting purposes.
What Happens When You Delete Defect
Deleting a defect hides all references to it in the system.
When a defect is deleted, it's child items (stories, tasks and test sets), attachments, and links are also deleted.
Some items in hierarchies can not be deleted if child items exist. For example, you cannot delete a parent portfolio item if child portfolio items and stories exist under it. You must first delete (or move) the children before deleting the parent. Some assets also have additional rules regarding deletions.
If a story that has effort tracked against it is deleted, the effort will still be counted and visible on list reports.
Option 1. In Any Grid
Locate the item you want to delete, and then select Delete from the Edit drop-down button.
Option 2. On an Asset Details Page
Click on a title or ID anywhere within the application.
On the asset details page, select Delete from the Edit drop-down button.
Click Delete to confirm.
Locating and Recovering Deleted Items
Option 1. In Recent Changes
All of your deleted defects display in your Recent Changes list. So, if you realize just a bit too late that the item you just deleted shouldn't have been, it can be viewed and accessed from that list.
Option 2. Using Advanced Search
The Advanced Search allows you to search for a defect that may have been deleted by mistake by you or anyone else. So, in cases where you don't know who deleted it or just have a feeling that something used to be there and is no longer, you can just enter your search criteria and select Deleted from the advanced search page to return any deleted assets that match the search criteria.
Option 3. Using the API
Deleted defects can also be viewed through an API query. Below is a query example that would return all deleted backlog items in XML format.
Be sure to replace this portion of the URL:
to match the initial URL of the VersionOne system that you use. The query above can be further refined by adding a 'where' clause, or by selecting certain attributed to be returned. Please see the community article, rest-1.v1/Data for more information on how to refine your query.
Recovering Deleted Defects
If a defect is deleted by mistake, in most cases (some item types such as list values or custom fields cannot be undeleted) you can choose Undo Delete to reverse the deletion and bring it back into the system. Any previous relationships will be re-established with the undo delete, including any links and attachments, child tasks/tests, etc. The Undo Delete optionis available as an action on the details page of the item as well as in the Deleted view of the Advanced Search page.
If you undo the delete of an item that caused cascaded deletes down to child items (e.g. tasks, tests, links or attachments), Undoing that delete will restore the child items that were deleted at that same time.