This feature is available in Ultimate edition only.
By default, VersionOne setup creates a new SQLServer login that has the appropriate level of access to the VersionOne database for run-time execution. The user credentials specified during setup to connect to SQLServer must have permission to create new logins.
Setup will halt and notify you if the user running VersionOne setup does not have the required permissions.
In on-premise instances, IT/security policies may restrict accounts used during setup such that they may not have the rights to create databases or SQLServer logins. In these cases, a DBA must manage the server, including the creation of the VersionOne database and the run-time login that VersionOne uses. This article outlines how to install and configure VersionOne to use an Existing SQLServer User (one created and configured by the DBA) as the run-time login.
Specifying an Existing SQLServer User
During setup, you can choose whether to create a new login for VersionOne, or specify that an Existing SQLServer User be used. If you choose to use an existing user, you will be prompted to enter credentials.
Unfortunately, it is not possible to set up "existing user" environment with AD accounts via Setup UI. This is called "trusted connection" in SQL Server terms, and requires processes using it - in this case IIS app pools hosting Lifecycle and Analytics, and Datamart scheduled task - to run under the identity of selected AD accounts. It would be best to use the existing arrangement with predefined SQL server accounts.
Existing SQLServer User Permissions
When choosing the Existing SQLServer User option, the account you specify for the VersionOne run-time login needs fewer SQLServer rights than the account used for setup, as it does not need to create a new login.
The VersionOne run-time login must be created as a user on the VersionOne database and a member of the following database roles:
When VersionOne is installed with the Existing SQLServer User option, the connection string is added to a user.config file. Additional settings may be added to the user.config after setup, as determined by your configuration. Note that all settings in the user.config are preserved when the system is upgraded.
Upgrades and Re-installs
Since the Existing SQLServer User setting is saved in a user.config file that is not changed during an upgrade, upgrades do not affect the setting. Additionally, the setting cannot be changed during an upgrade.
To revert to a VersionOne-created login, you must uninstall (without removing the database) and re-install, choosing the default behavior. See VersionOne Core Installation.
To add the Existing SQLServer User setting to an existing VersionOne installation, you must uninstall (without removing the database) and re-install, choosing the Existing SQLServer User option.