Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Splitting a Story on the Team Sheduling Page

This feature is available in Enterprise and Ultimate editions.

editions-eu.png

Overview

The Split process is typically done at the end of a sprint to split a partially completed feature. A Split takes the portion of work that is completed and leaves it in the current sprint under the current story and moves the remaining work estimate (tasks/tests) to the next sprint under a new story. This allows an accurate accounting of the work that was performed within a given sprint, while giving you the flexibility to apply work credit estimates to the partially completed feature.

Steps

  1. Go to Release > Planning > Team Scheduling.

  2. Click on a story (either from the Team to which it is assigned or from the Backlog grid) to open the story details page.

  3. Open the Edit drop-down menu and select the Split option. The Split Story window opens, showing details of the story with remaining work estimate.

  4. Click the Split button. The system generates a new story with the same name as the original. The remaining work estimate is transferred to the new story. Completed estimates remain with the original story.

  5. In the New Item section, select a new sprint from the Iteration drop-down list.

  6. Click Save. The new story details are saved.

  7. Click Save again. The new story is assigned to the team who worked the original story, and the item shows in the Team box with the inherited work estimate.