Skip to main content
System StatusContact Support
VersionOne Community

Activating and Deactivating a Sprint

This feature is available in all editions.

editions-all.png

Overview

This article provides instructions on how to activate (or open) a sprint so team members can begin  planning, tracking, and reporting on the scheduled stories.

What Happens When You Activate a Sprint

To perform these steps, your Admin Privileges role must be set to "Project Lead" or higher.

When a sprint is first created, it is automatically set to the Closed (or Future) status and no work can be logged against it. When the sprint starts, it must be "activated" so team members can see their scheduled work on their My Work page and begin tracking effort.

At the end of the Sprint, and when all work is completed, the sprint can be then be closed. See Closing a Sprint for details.

The My Home page is a consolidated view of all of the work assigned to you in active sprints.

Activating a Sprint

  1. Select a project in the Project Navigator.

  2. From the main menu, select Iteration Planning (or Sprint Planning) > Iteration Scheduling (or Sprint Scheduling).

  3. Expand the sprint/iteration you want to make active.

  4. Select Activate from the Edit drop-down list.

Deactivating a Sprint

If you want to lock down a sprint so that no more work can be done and mark it complete, you can deactivate it following the steps below. Note that closed sprints can be reactivated (see instructions above) if corrections are necessary at later date.

  1. Select a project in the Project Navigator.

  2. From the main menu, select Iteration Planning (or Sprint Planning) > Iteration Scheduling (or Sprint Scheduling).

  3. Locate the sprint/iteration you want to deactivate, and then select Future from the Edit action menu.

  • Was this article helpful?